NaNoWriMo: I Have Changed My Mind!! (Possibly at the most inconvenient time)

Okay! so my mother found out about nanowrimo (two years ago) and asked me ( of course on the day of the start) if I was going to try it out. I, of course, said “neh” and she says “And Why the Hell not!!?!?!” (hyperbole?) and then “You should join, since you want to be a writer!” (she’s such the enthusiast). I say “Oh I don’t I have time” she says “Well you’re gonna have to learn how to write and study when you get into college (notice how she already knows I’m getting into college a year and a half before I actually graduate Highschool)- this would be great practice!” she says.
So here I am reporting to you guys that I am now a runner in nanowrimo ( thanks to my mother’s optimism ) and I don’t even have a plot yet…
But!- That isn’t too much of an issue seeing as I can write a synopsis in five minutes and then just expand another 49,700 words.
No problem!
(Big problem)

2 responses

  1. Speaking as someone who participated in and successfully completed NaNoWriMo during my sophomore year of college during a time when I was taking a literature course and had a 10-15 page paper due at the very beginning of December–it is absolutely possible. You always have time if you use it right.

    Don’t give up! I love seeing young writers working hard to finish something or develop their craft. Post daily word counts on your blog, hold yourself accountable! You’d be amazed what amazing things you can make happen in your story, even if once you’re done you never pick it up again.

    The mere fact that you’ve finished something, a 50,000 word novel, is quite possibly one of the best feelings in the world. Just knowing you can makes the countdown to the next NaNoWriMo that much more satisfying. And I swear the Thanksgiving turkey will taste like victory.

Leave a Reply

