Protest Wednesday: Anti-SOPA Anit-PIPA

When I read about what these bills and acts were planning on doing I completely lost something in myself. Probably my sanity. My passion leaked a bit from my chest at the idea of US letting THEM censor US like we are puppets in their little industry designed to kneel and nod at their beckon and call. Why would they do this? What do they expect to gain by censoring one of the MOST IMPORTANT amendments that was ever made?- so important, in fact, that it was made to be the 1st!

They claim that this is a way to “protect” copyright infringement… like hell they are. They are basically protecting the “Big names”  (i.e celebs, musicians, etc) and their precious hollywood industry. I wander, don’t some of the musicians post their music own music themselves on Youtube? ( i.e VevoBeyonce, VevoBieber, VevoUsher, VevoMichealJackson, etc) Are they censored too? Hmm, who knows.

Probably not.

I never believed in having to paying ludicrous prices to listen, or read, or watch its stillness with my head cocked to the side- someones hard work and art, I never believed in having to pay for this. You did not have to pay your muse to make you write it, you should be proud enough that people want to see what you have to say; listen to your poetry with the melody in the background; observe your painting in silence. Yes, yes I know if we didn’t fine everything with that dreadful price tag what would the artist get in return? A damn true to heart fan that’s what! An admire of their talent!

I actually like websites like Youtube and…well I’ve never heard of any other website other than Youtube that is run the way it’s run but you get what I’m saying- I like websites like Youtube because they encourage freedom of speech and creativity. They allow us to rightfully listen to music for free and yet they probably pay a price to allow us this luxury.

Some of you wander if the websites are using us to keep them alive and active: why would you ask this if you, yourself, use theses websites for your own voice?- for your own talents and observations, your opinions? I do not think we should have to spend half a decade in prison because we played Single Ladies in our background… I am fighting this and I hope you will too, even with that doubt in your heart. I will not see our first amendment twisted in to a scheme by the government.

Join the blackout Wednesday, January 18th. Or annoy the hell out of the House with hundreds of tweets consisting of your hatred toward the bills.

Leave a comment